View Full Version : Beyond the Boxscore MLB Executive of the Year

10-20-2011, 12:15 PM
The results shouldn't surprise you.

Can't wait for the BBWAA to release their end-of-season awards? Want to see a group take a more saber-slanted approach to the MLB hardware? If the answer to either of those questions is "yes," then you've come to the right place.

At the end of the season, 11 of us here at Beyond the Box Score held our own vote for seven categories: AL and NL Most Valuable Players, Cy Youngs, and Rookies of the Year, as well as the all-MLB Executive of the Year. Over the next few weeks, I'll be unveiling the results so that you may take our collective wisdom as infallible gospel.

Today, we start the revelations with the "BtBWAA" MLB Executive of the Year award. This one isn't voted on by the real BBWAA, but since much of what we do here at BtB is about how players are assessed, I thought it would be interesting to see how we ranked MLB front office personnel.

Voting for this award was scored like Rookie of the Year: each writer picked their top three executives, and votes were counted on a 5-3-1 scale. Here are the top finishers: (number of first-place votes in parentheses)

1. Alex Anthopolous, Blue Jays 34 (5)
2. Andrew Friedman, Rays 24 (3)
3. Doug Melvin, Brewers 10 (1)
4. Jon Daniels, Rangers 8 (1)
5. Mike Rizzo, Nationals 5 (1)
6. Frank Wren, Braves 4
T7. Brian Cashman, Yankees 3
T7. Jed Hoyer, Padres 3
T9. Ruben Amaro, Jr., Phillies 2
T9. Kevin Towers, Diamondbacks 2
T11. Sandy Alderson, Mets 1
T11. Billy Beane, Athletics 1
T11. Neil Huntington, Pirates 1
T11. Tony Reagins, Angels 1

Personally, I think this list came out pretty well. I picked Anthopoulos, Friedman, and Melvin in that order, so I'm happy.

10-20-2011, 12:18 PM
no John Mozeliak?

guess that bullpen came together by magic

10-20-2011, 12:33 PM
1 first place vote alone puts you in top 5? too few voters for this to be helpful beyond establishing a top 3.

10-20-2011, 12:40 PM
what clown voted Mike Rizzo #1 lulz