PDA

View Full Version : Duke's alleged "violation"...



chlaxman
07-31-2011, 01:23 PM
Duke's NCAA rules compliance office is seeking an interpretation from the NCAA as to whether or not a recruit can talk to a coach by phone if the recruit is not playing in a tournament but is still on the road, according to a source with knowledge of the situation.


Krzyzewski
According to the source, forward Alex Poythress, a 6-foot-7 player in the class of 2012 from Clarksville, Tenn., called Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski last Tuesday night after his Georgia Stars AAU team was eliminated from the AAU Super Showcase in Orlando.

Poythress is ranked No. 17 overall among Class of 2012 recruits in the ESPNU 100.

The Georgia Stars were playing in the AAU nationals at the same site but that tournament didn't start until Wednesday, so technically he wasn't in a tournament at the time of the phone call. But Duke is checking to see if it doesn't matter if the recruit is still on the road.

Duke, according to the source, would not be in trouble if the incident is deemed a secondary violation, because it's seen as a gray area in the rules.

Krzyzewski was in Orlando on Monday and Tuesday watching games, including the Georgia Stars. He left Monday night to return home to Durham.

Duke resumes practice Monday at Cameron Indoor Stadium in advance of the Blue Devils' Aug 14 trip to China and Dubai.

Really? Really?




















Really?

magicmatt
07-31-2011, 01:25 PM
was gonna make a thread about this yesterday but forgot

chlaxman
07-31-2011, 01:34 PM
was gonna make a thread about this yesterday but forgot

Heard about it yesterday. Saw this.

This is news???? That's not even a secondary violation.





And I'm a UNC fan

Mac_xX
07-31-2011, 02:07 PM
The NCAA is f*cking ridiculous.

bbacn123
07-31-2011, 02:24 PM
The NCAA is f*cking ridiculous.

This is not the NCAA. This is Duke investigating themselves.

Be_Easy_25
07-31-2011, 02:47 PM
lol at these "rules"

yes, this type of technicality is ensuring the integrity of the NCAA.
:rolleyes: