PDA

View Full Version : need advice about awkward career situation regarding nutrition

JohnsonJones
05-31-2011, 05:52 PM
Awkward title, don't really know where to post this so I'm going to post it in misc with a (srs) at the end as well, don't h8 for the multiple posts.

I'm currently 24 and a half(pretty much on the dot). In may 2010 I graduated with a degree in computer information systems ( huge mistake, broad category, no specialty).

Before I graduated college, I was over 300lbs. I was a walking sack of lard ****. My girlfriend broke up with me because of my weight, I've lost friends since college, and thought that being someone who sat at a computer all day, whether for school or for fun, was an acceptable excuse.

After losing over 50 pounds, and continuing to do so, and discovering bb.com, its forums, what its about, the friendly people on here...i love it.

I breathe it. I could do this all day. I love reading/learning about nutrition, fat loss, different diets, and I want to learn more about the science behind that, but I haven't gotten that far yet.

I hate doing professional work with/around computers, I don't know why I picked that degree, it's just since I was a little kid I've always enjoyed playing computer games and I've built a couple gaming computers, so I thought that this would have been a good choice.

Wrong.

When it comes to the work place, the LAST thing I want to do is sit at a desk for 8 hours a day watching firewall packets, watching everyone scream, "OMG THE BOSTON SERVER IS DOWN, QWIK FIX IT NAOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" In fact, sometimes I think the only thing working in an IT department makes me want to do is punch the arrogant, goatee fat guy next to me snorting about how cool his new modem is.

Like I give a ****. I like helping people. I like improving my life. I like learning new things that this whole website has to offer, literally I've spent a solid 8 or 9 hours on my day off just reading things around bb.com.