PDA

View Full Version : Accounting for macros

White.Lightning
06-07-2010, 06:17 PM
Hello all. I am fairly new at this whole dieting ordeal. Through the past year I've been reading here and there trying to grasp the idea. I've gathered what I believe is a good starting meal plan for me. The outline is Alan Aragon's method to calculate the macros I need. In a nutshell, over the course of 6 meals, the macro breakdown is 35g protein/27g carbs/14g fats.

How do you all base you meal plans in terms of macros? Do you look online at fitday.com or read labels of the foods? This would make sure I eat 'xx' ounces of ground beef = '35' grams protein for that specific meal?

The part that has me going nuts is I am becoming overly fixated on what and how much I eat. I have been trying to go food shopping once a week, cook the food for the week, then portion it out daily as needed. I'm sure that once someone gets used to how much of a type of food equals how many grams of that macro, it becomes easier. Then I would know to cook a certain amount of chicken, beef, veggies, etc for the week.

So let me hear what/how you account for your macros. I know the macro breakout I need, I'm just struggling with the portions part

Thanks!!!!

uflcook
06-07-2010, 07:38 PM
Just get macros for a day, don't worry about using each meal as a goal for a specific amount of calories, protein, fat, and carbs. 35g/meal isn't anywhere near as important as the total for the day. Many people eat the majority of a certain macro in the morning, or the evening and such.. I usually just use the nutrition label and if it's not found, google it and compare a few websites.

Trillios
06-07-2010, 08:01 PM