PDA

View Full Version : Eating/Nutrition Regimen

militarypoliceX
04-29-2010, 08:38 PM
I'm new to BB, and looking to lose around 40 lbs. of fat but at the same time put on a lot of muscle. I am on a workout plan where I go to the gym 4 days a week, working Triceps/abs/calves 1st day, shoulders/traps/abs/calves 2nd day, biceps/forearms/chest/abs/calves 3rd day, legs(hams, glutes, etc.)/abs/calves 4th day. I haven't committed a day to cardio yet, but have been thinking about it, I know that would help. My biggest problem is WHAT to eat, WHEN to eat, and HOW MUCH to eat. I hear different things from everybody, some saying red meat is good, some saying chicken is best, and I have the hardest time with what to eat and when, and I know that this is one of the biggest parts of me achieving my goals. Is there anyone who can help?

determined4000
04-29-2010, 08:53 PM
1. Figure out calorie need
2. Figure out protein need (1-1.5g/lb) x 4 = calories from protein
3. Figure out fat need (.4-.5g/lb) x 9 = calories from fat
4. Subtract 2 and 3 from 1. Add in whatever you want (probably mostly carbs) to get your remaining calories.

My general guide to sources
I. Lean Protein-
a. primary sources- chicken breast, turkey breast, eggs, egg whites, egg beaters, chunk light tuna (water packed), whey, casein, cottage cheese
b. Secondary sources- lean beef, lean ham, salmon, lean ground meat, soy
II. Fats
a. Visible Fats- Nut Butters, Nuts, flax, fish oil, olive oil, canola oil, dressings (without added sugar or hydrogenated oil), avocado, Promise butter spread
b. Limited sources- yolks, cheese, red meat
c. Low carb Foods (comprising at least half of fat intake)-Low carb baking mix, low carb (whole rain) pita/wraps, omega enriched products. (should be very high in fiber, low in sat. fat). Check nutrition labels (these should be nutrient dense not junk/empty calorie low quality foods)