PDA

View Full Version : To bulk or cut?

EddieMusicLA
03-28-2010, 10:27 AM
Hey everyone,

Im 17, 5' 11'', weight 185 and my main goal is to loose fat and in the same time frame gain some muscle in the process. The thing Im trying to figure out is if I should focus mainly on cutting the fat first and then building the muscle after or should I do both together? Im completely new to this and Im not sure what the best course of action would be.

Best,
Eddie

breadfan1982
03-28-2010, 10:50 AM
I've always been one for the "bulk up, then cut" type of program, but to each their own. As you can tell I may have let my last "bulk" cycle get a bit out of hand (8 years out of hand), and now I'm paying for it.

It is definately an option to bulk up and cut body fat at the same time though. You could do HIIT training for cardio, and strength training for your workouts and just pay attention to what you eat. Increase protein intake, and eat enough complex carbs so that you can really push yourself during workouts.

SEAviator
03-28-2010, 10:52 AM
Hey man how's it going? I think you're eager to learn... Read this bro...

http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/the_truth_about_bulking;jsessionid=1F24AAD99184A44 7C853FB54D09030EB-hh.hydra

The only person that decides that is you man.. If you're fat cut and then bulk.. If you're not, just bulk....

bunbunVI
03-28-2010, 11:17 AM
Bulking is always better if you don't have a base, but don't get too fat on your bulk! Going slow at your age is not a bad idea.

coolspin27
03-28-2010, 01:27 PM
Bulking is always better if you don't have a base, but don't get too fat on your bulk! Going slow at your age is not a bad idea.

Agreed.... most will tell you to cut then bulk.

JJ-
03-28-2010, 02:09 PM
Since it is nearing summer time I would cut. I like to cut for summer and bulk durring winter. Just my thoughts

EddieMusicLA
03-28-2010, 02:18 PM
In everyones opinion,