PDA

View Full Version : Can I lose fat, while not getting that much sleep?

brettdavis4
01-26-2007, 09:10 AM
I'm exercising pretty good. I'm lifting 2 days a week and doing cardio 5 times a week. I eat pretty good about 2/3 - 3/4 of the time. The one thing that I really don't do well is sleep.

I'm a computer programmer and I'm studying up on somethings and trying to get a few certifications.

typically, I get home from work and take a 30-45 minute power nap and then go work out. When I come home, I chill for a bit and then study away. I go to bed around 2ish and wake up around 6ish.

Do I need to get more sleep if I want to get into better shape?

ScottC
01-26-2007, 09:20 AM
I'm exercising pretty good. I'm lifting 2 days a week and doing cardio 5 times a week. I eat pretty good about 2/3 - 3/4 of the time. The one thing that I really don't do well is sleep.

Do I need to get more sleep if I want to get into better shape?
Yes, you need your sleep for the body to rest/recover...but, if your diet isn't good 100% of the time your loss of fat will be very slow. You may think it is your sleep, but your diet is the real problem.

Demonsbane
01-26-2007, 09:23 AM
Lack of sleep will inhibit hormone production, muscle growth and recovery. You will also be lagging in all your other tasks.

brettdavis4
01-26-2007, 12:05 PM
How much sleep should I get?

arnold23
01-26-2007, 12:43 PM
6-8 hours a night

Archangel_Lost
01-26-2007, 12:48 PM
It'll probably slow down your fatloss some. But it'll also make you feel like -crap-. If you're in a cal deficit and not getting sleep, your body will be quite pissed at you. Soreness will last longer, headaches, mental fog, etc.

ironman300lb
01-26-2007, 01:06 PM
It will slow down your progress some plus you will be quit tired all the time

lordofchaos
01-26-2007, 01:20 PM
How much sleep should I get?