PDA

View Full Version : Running versus Swimming

Toddyo0o
01-07-2010, 08:22 PM
So i've never worked out before but I want to start working out.
I'm sorry if this is already in a sticky or another thread, if so just point me to it.
I'm mesomorphic so i've been told, I'm naturally built with an atheletic build.
However I do have some fat on my stomach, not much but enough to just hide my six pack below. Even when playing for soccer teams it doesnt seem to really recede. Is this just baby fat or alot of skin or something, or what should I do to ensure getting rid of this. This has always been a mystery for me.

Also I'm wondering what the benifits are for running appose to swimming or visa versa. Should one be doing both? I'm a complete beginner :(

eadgbe6
01-07-2010, 08:25 PM
Take it from someone who did a lot of both in high school, when it comes to getting in shape and getting a good looking body, swimming is by far the better choice. The only reason I don't still do it is because there aren't any indoor pools near me.

Toddyo0o
01-07-2010, 08:37 PM
My friend tried to tell me that swimming works on more muscle and gets you better cardio, but he said for burning fat it's not as efficient as running because you dont sweat as much?

sakofan
01-07-2010, 08:42 PM
I do both.

In a 30 minute session, I'll burn more calories running, but swimming has other advantages:
*No stress on the joints
*Full body
*Water adds a different kind of resistance

emmyemmy
01-07-2010, 08:55 PM
swimming will make you use more muscles AND put less impact on your joints than running.

It really can't be beat.

Wowzer
01-07-2010, 10:57 PM
So i've never worked out before but I want to start working out.
I'm sorry if this is already in a sticky or another thread, if so just point me to it.
I'm mesomorphic so i've been told, I'm naturally built with an atheletic build.