PDA

View Full Version : A n00b here that could use some help

xGordonFreemanx_old
11-15-2009, 12:58 AM
Over the past year, through calorie cutting alone I have lost 60 lbs. I am 27, 5'11", and currently weigh 180. I am not terribly overweight, but do have a substantial gut and noticeably flabby chest. I suppose with my age and height I should be at about 170. On a daily basis my calorie consumption runs from around 1600-2300, my carb intake is around 250g-400g, and my protein is about 115g-200g. Sporadic, I know. I am a vegan and just recently started taking a protein supplement to get my numbers up, so I probably couldn't use too many diet tips on here. That aside, I started lifting a week ago after finding a beginner program on here that worked for me and have since been reading as many articles as I can. I am a bit confused as to where I should go from here though. I have a vacation planned for June and would like to be in amazing shape by then, so I would like to use my time as effectively as possible. I don't want to waste time getting skinny and then start putting on muscle but I would also not like to up my caloric intake to put on muscle and then have a bunch of it sitting unseen under fat. Should I do some sort of split with 3 months dedicated to building muscle and 3 months to losing fat? I also wasn't sure if maybe because I don't really have a huge amount of weight to lose if I shouldn't just lift and pack on the calories and everything would just kind of slowly even itself out. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

gpfit
11-15-2009, 10:34 AM