PDA

View Full Version : Nutrition for a truck driver

blues_dad
08-01-2009, 02:35 PM
Ok, I have a tricky situation. I am a truck driver, and I don't have a fridge to keep anything refrigerated. About all I can do is microwave foods. I am trying to drop about 40 pounds of fat, what are some good recommendations for foods that don't need to be refrigerated that will help me lose weight while I work out?

LetsGoRedSox
08-01-2009, 03:00 PM
Ok, I have a tricky situation. I am a truck driver, and I don't have a fridge to keep anything refrigerated. About all I can do is microwave foods. I am trying to drop about 40 pounds of fat, what are some good recommendations for foods that don't need to be refrigerated that will help me lose weight while I work out?

thats definitely tough but your best bet would be to stock up on nuts, whole grain breads, high fiber cereals, oatmeals.

assuming u may be stopping at rest stops where fast food is, heres a good guide to avoid poor choices: http://eatthis.menshealth.com/restaurantsList.php

PopeGregorius
08-01-2009, 03:04 PM
THink about nuts, fruit, sandwiches, jerky, string cheese, water.

Dr. Horse
08-01-2009, 03:12 PM
Losing weight is not about eating the right foods, it's about eating less.

determined4000
08-01-2009, 03:13 PM
fruit, nuts, canned tuna, whole grain wraps/pita/bread, kashi cereal (crunch is good dry), trailmix, whey,canned beans, canned veggies

knawlejj
08-01-2009, 04:07 PM
THink about nuts, fruit, sandwiches, jerky, string cheese, water.

Agree with this, especially the jerky...though it's expensive if you don't make it yourself.

Roodz
08-01-2009, 04:25 PM
Just cut out 99% of the junk eat a couple of hundred below main and its pretty easy.
Also with the nuts there a great snack but just keep to a handful a day as there calorie dense. good luck

FunkymonkAW
08-01-2009, 05:33 PM
Make protein/meal replacement bars at home the day(s) before? Depending on your choice of ingredients, they will not need to be kept cold.