PDA

View Full Version : Girlfriend keeps giving up on herself...

SpotlightKnight
07-10-2009, 02:00 AM
I, myself had the problem of coming up with this huge almost get-rich quick scheme of losing weight at the gym on a consistent basis. For me, I didn't lose the 60 pounds that I lost until I accepted the gym as an outlet for my emotions and didn't dread going there, I craved it. Now my girlfriend is trying to lose weight as well, I am very supportive and provide advice for her when she asks for it, since I am a certified personal trainer, but she just can't seem to stay motivated and stick with routine for more than 2 weeks...I emphasize good nutrition balanced with giving her a push to go to the gym because I know that getting there is the hardest part a lot of the time. How can I get her to turn the same kind of corner that I did? Is it just going to happen by itself, if at all? What can I do differently to help her with this?

Senecan
07-10-2009, 02:54 AM
I, myself had the problem of coming up with this huge almost get-rich quick scheme of losing weight at the gym on a consistent basis. For me, I didn't lose the 60 pounds that I lost until I accepted the gym as an outlet for my emotions and didn't dread going there, I craved it. Now my girlfriend is trying to lose weight as well, I am very supportive and provide advice for her when she asks for it, since I am a certified personal trainer, but she just can't seem to stay motivated and stick with routine for more than 2 weeks...I emphasize good nutrition balanced with giving her a push to go to the gym because I know that getting there is the hardest part a lot of the time. How can I get her to turn the same kind of corner that I did? Is it just going to happen by itself, if at all? What can I do differently to help her with this?