PDA

View Full Version : after a loss

ruds55
06-25-2009, 09:48 AM
How many people have had trouble with getting back into their training after a loss of friend or family member?

Just lost a close relative and I only managed to get into the gym once this week. My mind has been out of it and its hurting my diet and training......

Hoping for the fog to clear soon and not to lose focus of my goals.

Squall243
06-25-2009, 10:46 AM
How many people have had trouble with getting back into their training after a loss of friend or family member?

Just lost a close relative and I only managed to get into the gym once this week. My mind has been out of it and its hurting my diet and training......

Sorry to hear about your loss, Im a Toxicology student so this is my best advice and explanation:

At the moment your body is trying to relieve the stress caused by your loss and I wouldnt advise doing any working out (Weights) for a couple of weeks as the added stress will cause an elevated level of Cortisol (which can cause depression) to go into your system which breaks down muscle and causes extra testosterone to be released which after being free in your system for a while will be converted to di-hydrotestosterone which makes hair fall out etc.

A couple of days a week of cardio will be far better and you wont be as tired+ you will sleep better and it will give you body a chance to adapt to your loss ie grieving. Your body and mind will be alot more focused after a couple of weeks and Id advise you to take it easy when you get back. So in summary: Swap your nomal workout routine days for half hour session of cardio (running/rowing) for two weeks, then do one week of working out at about 60% of what you normally do then increase intensity up to your norm weight.

InHonorInMind
06-25-2009, 11:30 AM