PDA

View Full Version : I started lifting because of a girl....

Khachikp86
05-30-2009, 05:45 PM
I had been lifting for years on and off. Then I met a woman and became completely infatuated. The closer we got, the harder I hit the gym. I saw more gains in 5 months than in the previous 2 years. Now things have truly fallen apart with her and I have zero motivation to keep going.

Ridiculous as all of this is, I need to regain the motivation.

Cletus99
05-30-2009, 05:49 PM
You're going to need something to pull you out of the depression this will most likely put you in! I advise 2 scoops NO Xplode + 3 Super Pump 250 in the morning then spend a minimum of 3 hours at the gym. Do this and then call me the next morning so I can tell you to do it again.

VoxExMachina
05-30-2009, 07:16 PM
I don't think there's any way to suddenly be motivated again. I think you just have to drag yourself up by the bootstraps, get into the gym, and work out until you are exhausted. Then do it a few more times until you get back into the rhythm.

Do it for yourself and you'll be more successful long term. That said, you don't want to be out of shape for your next girl, do you?

Now go GIT 'ER DONE!

ndruo
05-30-2009, 10:31 PM
The problem with attaching your motivation to someone else lies in the fact that you're essentially letting them have control over that part of your life. It's subtle, but it's true.

You say to yourself that you did it all for her.

Bull****.

There had to be some pleasure in seeing the changes you made in your body that went beyond "she'll think I'm soooo hot." There had to be some fulfillment, appreciation for the fact that you changed yourself extending beyond getting her approval. At some level, it was there. Even if you don't realize it right now.

Your perspective is too outwardly focused. Too broad. Too empathetic.

Be selfish. This is YOUR body, YOUR life, and YOUR heart.

Nobody, not even someone you cared for deeply, can take that away from you.