PDA

View Full Version : Recent Loss of Motivation :(

rude_rick1
05-19-2009, 02:43 PM
I've been training now for approx 2 years, rarely having a break from it.. it's really become part of my day to day routine.

Over the last 2 weeks, whenever I've gone to the gym, I have left within half an hour because I cannot concentrate enough to keep myself motivated to work efficiently. I have a few things on my mind external to training, mainly to do with some difficult exams coming up, as well as some relationship difficulties.. all of which are constantly on my mind.

Should I take some time off training untill I've dealt with/got past the external issues that are affecting me? Any other ideas?

Cheers.

quickups
05-19-2009, 04:09 PM
I've been training now for approx 2 years, rarely having a break from it.. it's really become part of my day to day routine.

Over the last 2 weeks, whenever I've gone to the gym, I have left within half an hour because I cannot concentrate enough to keep myself motivated to work efficiently. I have a few things on my mind external to training, mainly to do with some difficult exams coming up, as well as some relationship difficulties.. all of which are constantly on my mind.

Should I take some time off training untill I've dealt with/got past the external issues that are affecting me? Any other ideas?

Cheers.

Take some time, off man..Give it some time. My advice is to stay out of the gym for a couple off weeks COMPLETELY. You need the mental break!

Anywhere and anything that can give you a mental break..you should do it. Whether it be concentrating on one thing at a time, do something fun, or looking for inspiration out there..do it.

Good luck.

2sweet
05-19-2009, 08:32 PM
I agree with Quickups you need a total break. You'll burn out if you don't and your heading in that direction. Just take care of what you have to take care of then go back when you feel the need. Much luck and my prayers are with you.

dkemano42
05-19-2009, 08:43 PM