PDA

View Full Version : Experienced Trainer but Newbie on Nutrition

kennyken55
04-07-2009, 12:17 PM
Hi Guys/Gals

First of all, I would like to say that the over 35 section is one of the best sections in this forum and my favourite and it has given me loads of great info.

I am 43 years young and I have been training on and off for more than 20 years and have built up an impressive physique in my opinion, at least my wife says she likes It :) After a couple of years of lackadaisical training once I hit 40 (only once or twice a week), I decided to turn it up a notch again last year in May when I hit 43. In the last 11 months I have got back to serious training and cut out all alcohol and almost all junk foods except for the odd cheat snack/meal, once every few weeks.

Although I have been eating clean for almost 1 year solid, I have never really counted calories, grams of protein, carbs, fats etc. and I am not really 100% sure if I am doing everything correctly. From reading other posts in this forum, I have a gotten a good idea of the grams to carbs to fats ratio that I should be consuming and surprisingly, when I added it all up, I was taking in around what is recommended.

Here is my current diet below; I have narrowed my diet down to these foods and supplements. I feel 100% almost everyday on this diet, I have the right amount of strength in the gym, I am gaining the desired amount of muscle and I am dropping body fat. Whenever I mess with it, I feel that I am either over or under eating, I am tired and I am gaining either too much weight or losing too much depending on my calorie intake.

What I would like is some comments on whether this is a sound bodybuilding diet, I know my body is telling me it is and I would be very reluctant to make any major changes to it. As well as the positive affect it is having on my body, all of the foods on this diet are ones that I enjoy to eat and it provides me with no desire to eat any other unhealthy food.