PDA

View Full Version : fat loss

CTfl
01-29-2002, 12:05 AM
I've been working out for about 3 months now. I get about 1500 calories per day (sometimes less -- but I was told anything less than 1500 was not good so I try to get 1500) and take in around 200g protein per day. I take my vitamins, and an amino acids 1000mg supplement. My diet consists mainly of chicken, turkey, and vegetables. I work out 5 times a week and run 2 miles (about 8 mins. per mile) a day, 4 times a week. Muscle gains have pleased me for the most part (I've added 45lbs. to my bench in these 10-11 weeks) My calves have gotten pretty large and my vertical leap has increased by about 2-3" (basketball is my sport of choice) and it seems like I have unlimited energy these days. Anyway, that's all well and good, except it seems like I have lost hardly any fat with the exception of my arms and lower legs, which seem much more defined. I really don't care about actual body weight, only physique. I'm about 5'11, 200lbs. What am I doing wrong that the weight is not coming off quicker? Does it just take time, I'm simply aiming to be in "good" shape around June. I'd like to keep running and working out in my current routines and amounts. Are there any supplements (inexpensive ones only, college isn't cheap -- can't afford to spend $50 on a one week supply of supplements :)) recommended to accelerate the fat loss while not slowing down muscle gains? Any other advice is also appreciated.

Original Poster
01-29-2002, 04:21 AM
Try to get your cardio in first thing in the morning.
I would go to 5-6 meals a day. Your insulin levels will be more level throughout the day that way, which will aid in fat loss. You may want to check out a keto diet. Your diet now may be close to it but with a few small changes you could go ketonic and really excellerate your fat burn. I wouldn't shoot to lose more than 2-3 lbs a week, you will burn more muscle the faster you lose weight.

Good luck.

CTfl
01-29-2002, 09:53 AM