PDA

View Full Version : bulking up on a shoe string budget

AgentGraves
12-09-2008, 10:01 PM
Hey !

i am new to all of this the most I have in experience in lifting was back in gym class back in 99...

So now after some missteps I want to get back on the wagon and bulk up seeing how I've accidently bulked down.

though the problem is that I am on an extremely tight budget and would like to know what sort of diet I can get on or what sorts of exercises I can get on with such a small amount of money to work with....I am looking to gain about 20 to 25 pounds of "good weight"...I am somewhere in the late 160's to early 170's

If anyone can help it would be great!

I hope to get back into a healthy weight class than what I have and am falling into...

codyl
12-09-2008, 10:52 PM
the first thing you need to do is make sure that you are eating a lot of protein to put on muscle. Just go to the grocery store and stock up on cheap sources of protein such as chicken breast, tuna, eggs, lean beef as well as a good carb source such as rice as well as vegetables and your set.

determined4000
12-09-2008, 11:01 PM
BUY IN BULK
Chicken breasts, tuna, sweet potatoes, frozen veggies (cheaper) nuts, PB, oats, eggs, rice, and milk are your cheapest/cleanest options
Browse online grocery circulars for good deals (especially on meats) or get a Sams/Costco membership (it will save you $ in the long run)

netiad
12-09-2008, 11:16 PM
eggs, potatoes, $4.99 rotisserie chicken chicken from walmart, pork chops

Buffstateballer
12-09-2008, 11:47 PM
cottage cheese

user25564
12-09-2008, 11:50 PM
If you can avoid eating out, you can save extra money to buy more grocery items for the food that you need to buy. Trying looking at other things that you can cut costs if there are any.

youngkokid
12-09-2008, 11:52 PM
Really cheap things....

Oats and Peanut Butter. Use them, they will become your best friend. Especially on a budget.