PDA

View Full Version : Need help getting started.

jk73sb
11-02-2008, 07:40 PM
I am new to bodybuilding in general. I started working out due to receiving some scary news from my doctor about my sedentary lifestyle I was living. I started working out last November in my local YMCA with a friend and have lost some weight (15lbs) along with body fat (from 23% to 20%). I have purchased a few books on diets but I feel lost by what I am ready as again I am new to all of this. I am interested in obtaining a diet plan to reduce by body fat to 10% while continue to gain lean muscle mass. I usually eat a half cup of oatmeal along with 3 eggs for breakfast. my early morning snack is usually 1 cup of non fat plain yogurt, lunch tuna fish sandwich, preworkout meal a banana and 1 scoop of whey protein, post workout creatine and one scoop of whey protein, chicken or fish with dinner along with sweet potatoes or some other complex carbs, and nighttime snack is a cup of 1% cottage cheese with flax seeds on top. I take a multi vitamin along with green tea extract in the mornings. I am frustrated and feel stuck as it seems to be taking a long time to loose weight. I believe I am getting 200g of protein a day to aid in burning fat but I wonder if my metabolism is stalled. Any Ideas?

jk73sb
11-16-2008, 07:32 PM
anyone?

jk73sb
11-30-2008, 02:10 PM
anyone have any ideas?

Brofessor
11-30-2008, 02:17 PM
Start doing some reading at other posts, there are new comers all day every day asking similar questions. Find out what your maintenance calories are, and start eating 500 less than that each day. Sign up on a site like www.fitday.com to make it easier to keep track of what you're eating. Eating lots of protein won't make you lose weight faster than getting your calories from carbs or fats. The only thing that will make you lose weight is eating less than your maintenance calories.

Charles_E
11-30-2008, 03:48 PM