PDA

View Full Version : Cyclical Ketogenic Diets (Carb Cycling) - Comments & Suggestions

phuz
07-09-2008, 10:15 AM
I am fairly new to the ketogenic diet, and I am on the fence about it. It has its obvious positives, as I have noticeably shed pounds of body fat, but I find that it is taking away energy from my workouts. I am not sure if this is because I am still in the preliminary stages of the diet.

The wall that I usually hit during my workouts at 70-80 minutes, is now happening after 15 minutes. My muscles get shaky and I just can't stay focused with that going on.

I am not sure if I need to up my fat intake to get more energy, or if my body will eventually make the transition, but I can't function in the gym at this rate.

For breakfast, I drink 5-6 whole eggs, eat ~5 pieces of turkey bacon, and will have ~3 turkey sausages. Throughout the day, I will have chicken, ground turkey, beef, cheese. I will have a 40g protein shake after I get home from the gym.

As I said, I like the diet for its ability to shed body fat % at a fairly rapid rate, but is the ketogenic dieter able to still have aggressive workouts?

Autino
07-09-2008, 10:25 AM
I am a big fan of the Keto Diets.
CKD is awesome!
Great way to burn through some fat and hold on to some muscle.

For me, I did notice that my workouts did suffer though.
On my own, even with caffeen, creatine and all the supplements that are suggested, the longest I stay in the gym for was about 20-25 minutes.

With a partner or trainer I would stay longer, but man.
There were a few times when my trainer sent me home early (45 minutes as opposed to 60 minutes) becuase my blood sugar levels droipped so low, I turned white/greenish and was nearly passed out. Like a diabetic with low levels. Couldn't even talk or walk or anything...
After that I turned to a TKD, and was able to stay in the gym longer.
Now I am back on a 40/40/20 diet while I bulk up some.

Always a fan of the Keto though. Great food!