PDA

View Full Version : Excess stomach fat/love handles (not overweight)

kitsae
06-27-2008, 10:40 PM
I'm 5"10, 160 and have been lifting for about 18 months.

I used to weight 200 pounds. I've shed most of the bad weight, but continue to have love handles and a gut (34 waist).

I have been eating clean for 6 months, and have tried going hard on cardio for months.

The specific problem is this: when I start doing heavy cardio (5+ times a week, 45 minute intervals of fat burning), I start dropping weight (sub-160) and my gains in the gym STOP completely. Plus, the small gut and love handles remain.

What am I doing wrong? How can I get rid of this belly fat, while continuing to gain muscle?

THANKS!

ElayneTrakand
06-27-2008, 11:11 PM
Eat more to help with your gains at the gym.

ArchDukeOfTops
06-27-2008, 11:27 PM
What does the "5+ times a week, 45 minute intervals of fat burning" include?

My guess is, you're doing low intensity cardio.

If you're loosing weight, but not become leaner, and you're not gaining in the gym, then essentially the way you're doing your cardio is catabolic, or at the very least, counter-productive.

Just remember, more muscle means more calories burned even while not working out. This is where building muscle works to getting you leaner.

So the answer is, you want all exercise you do to promote muscle mass, even your cardio. Running on a treadmill for 45 minutes is not promoting muscle mass. I'm not saying no one should ever run or do low intensity, because it has its place for some, but you're current cardio is obviously not helping your current goals

Try high intensity cardio, whether it be sprints, circuit training, timed intervals etc.

If you make sure all cardio you do is focused around building muscle as well as burning calories and fat, and your diet is in check, I promise you'll notice an improvement.

Joshhd6
06-27-2008, 11:36 PM
What does the "5+ times a week, 45 minute intervals of fat burning" include?