PDA

View Full Version : 800m training

footballers77
03-29-2008, 08:38 AM
I am a freshman in high school and i run the 800m in a PR of 2:08.56. We have our county, district, and regional meets left this year. After the season is over, most people have told me to run cross country. I am thinking of doing it since it will be good to build up my base. My BIG fear is that I will lose my speed for the 800m. I have heard that doing strides after my long runs will keep my fast twitch fibers active. Should I do separate speed workouts 1-2 times a week during the summer? Is it possible for someone to reccommend a summer training program for me (i will be working 830-4 during the summer if that helps) I am not training to run cross country, but I am building my base for the 800m through xc training. Can someone please help me on this as my big long term goal is to break 2 minutes as a sophomore. Thanks, I would really appreciate it.

DavidJr74
03-29-2008, 08:51 AM
I am a freshman in high school and i run the 800m in a PR of 2:08.56. We have our county, district, and regional meets left this year. After the season is over, most people have told me to run cross country. I am thinking of doing it since it will be good to build up my base. My BIG fear is that I will lose my speed for the 800m. I have heard that doing strides after my long runs will keep my fast twitch fibers active. Should I do separate speed workouts 1-2 times a week during the summer? Is it possible for someone to reccommend a summer training program for me (i will be working 830-4 during the summer if that helps) I am not training to run cross country, but I am building my base for the 800m through xc training. Can someone please help me on this as my big long term goal is to break 2 minutes as a sophomore. Thanks, I would really appreciate it.