PDA

View Full Version : Wrestling Workout?? Postseason

Hotshot133
03-28-2008, 12:35 PM
What would be a good wrestling program for weightlifting mixed in with Cardio/HIIT training? Any ideas? THANKS IN ADVANCE

hausheer769
03-28-2008, 01:40 PM
I am a wrestling coach, and I am playing with some different ideas this year. We are doing a basic WS4SB type program. I actually kind of like it because of the Dynamic Effort lower body day- I think it will give more explosion off bottom when the whistle blows.

Monday - Max Effort Upper Body
Practice from 4:15-6:00pm
3 mile run later that night
Tuesday - Dynamic Effort Lower body
Sprints
Wednesday - Practice from 4:15-6:00pm
3 mile run that night
Thursday - Repetition Upper body
3 mile run that night
Friday - Max Effort Lower Body
Practice 4:15-6:00pm
sprints

We do make some changes depending on certain things:
* Some wrestlers do lifting 2 days a week ? Tues (ME upper and DE lower) and Thurs (RE upper and ME lower) based on work or other scheduling issues.
* If we have an offseason tourney on a Saturday, we would move our lifting from that day and combine on Thursday, or hit it up on Sunday. We would also limit the number of sprints, but may play some games. Basically take it easy before a tourney, good stretching/ nice sweat.
* If we do not have a tourney on Saturday, we try and meet at the park that day for some football, or other team building fun.

Hotshot133
03-29-2008, 03:11 PM
I am a wrestling coach, and I am playing with some different ideas this year. We are doing a basic WS4SB type program. I actually kind of like it because of the Dynamic Effort lower body day- I think it will give more explosion off bottom when the whistle blows.

Monday - Max Effort Upper Body
Practice from 4:15-6:00pm
3 mile run later that night
Tuesday - Dynamic Effort Lower body
Sprints
Wednesday - Practice from 4:15-6:00pm
3 mile run that night
Thursday - Repetition Upper body
3 mile run that night
Friday - Max Effort Lower Body