PDA

View Full Version : 40 yd dash

cmml
03-16-2008, 03:01 PM
Hey guys, I'm a bit curious. I'm a freshman and I'm one of the strongest and fastest freshman in my school. Just for some reason my 40 is a 5.6 and it is weird because I normally can beat people if we are just sprinting for fun or w/e. I heard a bunch of coaches say it is my get off and I've been trying to work with it but nothing works.
Btw, I'm 5'10 179 pounds, around a 14% body fat and I am a football player. I am also running track for speed. And the coaches put me on the varsity roster(i'm 1 of the 3 chosen) please tips advice, I really need to fix this fault.

JTringer
03-16-2008, 03:19 PM
Search

Cinderblock
03-16-2008, 03:30 PM
If your starts are the problem then work on your starts, thats it. Reason being is that the 40 primarily measures how fast your start, not your general speed thats why I don't like it but oh well dude.

Dakidwondah
03-16-2008, 03:30 PM
Read up on those .pdf files
http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=397245

cmml
03-16-2008, 03:41 PM
If your starts are the problem then work on your starts, thats it. Reason being is that the 40 primarily measures how fast your start, not your general speed thats why I don't like it but oh well dude.

Amen dude, yeah I've been working on it just 5.6 looks disgusting haha. I think I need to be more aggressive off my start, and that for somereason being in 3 point(sprinter position) makes me feel off balance like if I push to hard I'll fall. I know i'm probably doing something wrong.

darknessWithin
03-16-2008, 04:15 PM
lower weight more speed
im assuming

Ninjanerd8
03-16-2008, 04:41 PM