PDA

View Full Version : Measuring Progress

weemyss
02-27-2003, 08:13 AM
Hi All:

this is my first post to the forum. I am a recent comer to weight training and have found myself trending towards a body building approach to my training, although I have not considered competing. The primary reason for my training is getting control of a number of health issues. I have been lifting now for about 11 months and have found some strength gains and size development, but frankly am a bit disappointed with how slow progress has been the past three months or so.

To address the plateau problem, I have been using the website articles to develop a program: 2 on, 1 off; 2 on 2 off, splitting with chest/triceps; legs; shoulders; back/biceps. Abs I throw in twice a week, allowing for at least a day off to recuperate. I work up to 8-10 reps before increasing weight and generally keep to 4 sets for the upper body muscles and closer to 8 sets quads. With the commute I can only get in about 35-45 minutes of intense cardio after lifting. With the family, I have not been doing cardio on my off days, but have been considering this as a possible problem.

I have found this to work fairly well, but but because I am new to the sport, cannot tell if progress from here on out will be incremental, or if my training is ther bigger problem. I am working on a diet that keeps fats and carbs to a down with high protein intake. Maybe this is just an issue of tweaking for a while until I find the right mix.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

TwoWalks
02-27-2003, 08:53 AM
Weemyss: welcome to the over 35 board, many great folks here that will give sound advice without insult and incouragement.

What are your goals?

It is hard to judge a diet or workout without knowing where you began and where you want to end up.

giantfan43
02-27-2003, 09:37 AM
Welcome to the board !!!!