Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) SDFlip is a splendid one to behold. (+10000)

I just had to say it......

When I started training everyone told me you should do compounds only. What will a 100 lbs barbell curl do for you if you can row 220 lbs or even 300? What good is a measly hamstring curls if you can do deadlifts with 400 lbs? What good is 20 lbs lateral raises when you can do db presses with 70 pounds? What usefulness does machinepresses have when you can lift the same thing without a machine? Is flyes any good when you can bench press so much more, the muscle fibers will get worked alot more than doing flyes with pitiful weights.

I believed all that and did it for more than two years (not understanding the differnce between intensity and total intensity). Now I have come to the conclusion that people who advocate compound only are often newbies who shouldn't be dishing out advice. IMO doing isolation exercises is VERY important if you are into BODYbuilding and not strength building. Compound exercises has their place but so do isolation exercises.