yaga has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

help me out, please! workout question...

i recently started lifting again and ideally, i would like to both add size as well as get ripped/cut. i was told a long time ago to do 4 sets of 6 reps of whatever exercise i did (since my main goal was to get bigger), all at the same weight, and when i am able to complete all 4 sets of 6, then i should increase the weight a little until i could complete all 4 sets again.

i tried this method, and since it was the first time that i had seriously lifted, i actually saw pretty good results. however, i noticed that i was the only person that i knew (hs then, and even later in college -- amongst my friends) that did this. since it seemed to work, i didnt change it. most of my friends were doing like 4 sets of 10 or something like that. they also did a pyramid type of lifting system.

anyway, i am trying to get back into shape again, but i am beginning to wonder if 4 sets of 6 reps would offer the best results, or if 10 reps and/or a pyramid system would be better.

also, how many different exercises should i be doing? if i only do 4 sets of 6, but i do 4 different exercises for the same muscle, is it really much different than doing 8 sets of 6 reps of only 2 diff exercises?

also, how long should i rest between sets, and how long should my workout be each time i go to the gym?

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
    Last edited by yaga; 01-23-2003 at 12:25 PM.