Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    Geek Giving Crappy Advice SchemeSC's Avatar
    SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10) SchemeSC is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Ripping Toe's and Crushing Captains- SchemeSC's training log

Why hello there you big ,strong, smelly guy! Welcome to my training journal!

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Daniel and I live in the Eastern panhandle of the great state of West Virginia. I've been lifting weights on and off for about the last 2.5 years with some decent results. I started lifting at around age 19 as a skinny, 135 pound geek. Like most beginning weightlifters, I almost completely neglected squats and deadlifts in my training. I spent way too much time working my arms directly and, unfortunately, used bodybuilding splits. Still, even not knowing exactly what I was doing, I did gain some weight and strength, as I now weigh around 160 at a height of 5'7". So now I'm a 160 pound geek instead of a 135 pound geek. Pretty cool!

I'm going to start a new program called Starting Strength, designed by Mark Rippetoe. One reason I think that I'll love this program is because I only have to lift 3 times a week. Rather than spending six days a week training isolation movements, I can lift 3 days a week focusing on my favorite compound lifts. This will also free some time for me to do other things I enjoy, such as reading history (I'm a Social Studies major), tennis, and gaming. My main goal with this program is increased strength and power, but I'm going to eat like a maniac and hopefully gain a little mass too.