Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10) wildfox is on a distinguished road. (+10)

WildFox goes Wild on Starting Strength (Rippetoe)

I've recently begun "Starting Strength" (Mark Rippetoe) based on the fantastic writeups here and elsewhere. I am not totally new to weight lifting, but I am rather new to the goal of getting big and strong. I used to try to get leaner (<200), but damn I like eating so much I think I will go the other direction :-)

I have ordered the book, should arrive on Friday.

In the past I have had personal trainers at gyms, and lost faith in them after a few months and lot's of money down the drain. Also have done some cycles of HST. HST actually worked quite well for me, but I have decided to get stronger as a main goal. After I've spent 4-6 months on Starting Strength, I'd like to take a little break then go on to 5x5. Hopefully by then I will be able to recruit one of my neighbors as a spotter. He trains at Gold's and is very athletic. Just also very busy.

Current basic stats: 5'9, 209#, managing insulin resistance and cholesterol issues with diet. I've had a lot of endocrinologists helping me with hypogonadism too. Now I'm on HRT, which I guess is unusual for a 35 year old. So anyone paying attention should bear that in mind.

Bulking, 1.5g protein/pound a day. I use fitday.com to track food and activity.

If anyone wants to see diet and measurements, just ask. I hesitate to post pics because I'm just kind shy like that (for now).