andyteh has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

225 lbs Bench Press Target

Hi guys,
    I have been training for a few years and my personal goal is to one day be able to bench press 220lbs for reps as I think 220 lbs is the first bench mark in bench pressing and for personal achievement.

Right now,I am able to bench press only 165 lbs for 5 reps.
    So I would like to get the advice of those that have pressed 225 lbs > for reps,how do I get to that stage?

My current body weight is 150 lbs,is it a MUST to gain 20 lbs to be able to press 225 lbs,or it can be done at this bodyweight?

Hope someone can help on this

Thanks
    Andy
    Last edited by andyteh; 05-22-2006 at 11:38 PM.

▲▲▲ Just as it says ▲▲▲ Tumescent's Avatar
    Location: Having a drink, in a pub, Next to the resturant at the end of the universe
    Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50) Tumescent will become famous soon enough. (+50)
    150lbs sounds a little small to be benching 225 for reps to me...

The thing with the bench is that it is an entire upper body workout, with special attention to your pecs, triceps, anterior delts and even your lats. To get to a 220 bench all these muscles are going to have to grow and you will have to put on a bit of weight.