ddv33 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Newbie trying to gain some muscle

Hey all,
    I've been pretty skinny for the past couple years, usually between 140-145 lbs. I'm 5'11". I started lifting regularly and eating well about 6 weeks ago and I've gained about 8 pounds up to 150.

Would you guys suggest I keep trying to bulk up? I'm thinking of trying to get to around 160 and then lose some fat. I would like to avoid getting too high body fat % while gaining weight.

Thanks for any help!
    Attached Images

Not what I use to be..... StrongEnough?'s Avatar
    StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10) StrongEnough? is on a distinguished road. (+10)
    Awesome job on deciding to lift. However, you need to eat! A lot, over 3000 calories a day (Clean calories, non of the McDonalds Cheeseburgers ). You need to bulk, not cut. Your bodyfat is low enough right now. Adding some muscle will really help you out!

BigOlePappy has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    Do everything that the above poster said. Diet should be your no 1 priority.

Also, learn to squat correctly and then do lots of them.

Thanks for the tips. I've had some knee pain so I've actually haven't done a squat Hopefully I'll be able to figure out how to do them with out pain. I've been eating around 2800 calories for the past month and seem to be gaining weight. I'm just trying to avoid the weight being too much fat.

Does adding 10 more pounds then trying to cut some fat sound like a resonable plan?