jodar has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Help for a beginner and his diet

I'm currently 6'2", about 188 lbs. I am skinny all over except for my belly, which is where most of my fat seems to be. If I didn't have the belly, I suspect I'd weigh around 160.

All through high school and college I was the poster child for Dr.Pepper and cokes. I drank them like they were going out of style. I don't drink beer, but I have a "coke" belly instead.

It has always been there, but not super noticable through clothes or anything. Just a frustration.

Well, I graduated school and am now part of the working force. I was still throwing back the cokes, and eating horribly, but now I was also sitting at a desk 8 hours a day and then at home in front of my computer or tv for the rest. No walking around campus or playing basketball with guys or anything.

Well, my belly has decided to grow quite large, much to my dismay.

One day I tried to go for a jog, and felt horrible early on. I stopped way earlier than I thought I would and really kind of broke down at that point and basically decided the old way wasn't going to cut it.

so for about the last month I've decided I needed to get into shape. In order to do so I'm currently working on a program that has me running 3 times a week for ~20 minutes (the goal is to get to 3 miles a day within about 2 months, or 4 more weeks since I'm half way there). I've also cut out all of my cokes but 1 per day. I am going to get off of it soon, but want to ease into it rather than do something that will cause me to "fall off the wagon" so to speak.

I'm trying to eat healthy, but am having a pretty difficult time. I think it is largely due to the fact that I don't plan out what I'm going to do ahead of time, and eating well isn't easy on the fly. For me, at least.