Carl has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Carl has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Carl has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

What's best for beginners?

I've worked out off and on in the past but never stuck with it until recently. I've been lifting for six months now, which is the longest sustained time ever for me.

I have the type of body where I'm never going to have a V-shape, and I'm really more interested in lifting heavy weights than looking good on the beach.

Right now I'm 4 weeks into an 8 week cycle on the 3x3 program.
    http://www.deepsquatter.com/strength/archives/korte.htm
    I feel like I'm making progress, but wonder if something else would be better after I finish this 8 week cycle?

I've heard a lot of you recommend the Westside stuff, but when I read it, I don't seem to have the equipment to do it. All I have is free weights, a bench, and a squat rack in my basement. For instance a large part of Westside is doing reverse hypers almost every workout.

Is there a way to adapt this? Should I try something completely different? Stick with the 3x3?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks.

i just did the 3x3 myself a couple months ago and got great results from it. i actually beat my projected max by 15 pounds! your on the right track bro, after you finish up the 3x3 continue a PL routine... i can help you with a good split and routine if youd like....

Carl has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Carl has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Carl has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    Yeah that would be great. I love how simple the 3x3 is, but simple turns into boring after 8 weeks of the same three exercises.

I'd like to something like this westside routine:
    Max Effort SQ and DL
    1 max effort exercise
    1 exercise for your weak points
    Reverse Hypers
    Abs
    [you will always do reverse hypers and abs, so you only need to figure out the first two exercises]

Speed Squat and Deadlift Day
    Box squat