SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10) SpecTheIntro is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Question about squat and deadlift weight.

Hey everyone. I was wondering what a good ratio of weight lifted/body weight was for the squat and the deadlift? I'm 5'10", 190 lbs, and I'm just not sure what I should be aiming for here. I started squatting and deadlifting only five months ago, so I'm relatively new to the exercise: I've been very careful about my form, and I think that caution has led to me not putting enough weight on the bar for real stimulation. As of now, here's what I've been doing:

Squats: 3 sets of 10, 135lbs.
    Deadlift: 3 sets of 10, 125lbs.

I couldn't really tell you if I'm working to failure. The first times I tried the exercises I thought I was going to vomit. I've had that feeling a few times since, mostly when I'd been out of the gym for a week or so. Normally the last rep or two of the squat is where I really have to struggle to get the weight back up.

Now, I've seen some much higher numbers on the boards, and I expect that's normal, but in this case I think I'm actually undertraining. I'm not in olympic-athlete shape but I do run a 7 minute mile, and have practiced kung fu for well over 7 years, and on top of that genetics have given me very large legs. (You should see my uncles.) So, within reason, what sort of numbers should a person of my size, in relatively good shape, be aiming for? Any help is appreciated.