yen has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) yen has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question DESPERATE for answers!!!!! :(

[edited: I've shortened the post and deleted a whole paragraph... you're right..it was way too long. Sorry, was just really desperate to get the question out and went overboard]

Hey... I'm a newbie at strength training...just started a bit over two months ago.. The thing is, I've see wonderful improvements in muscle tone since I've started and increases in muscle size, particularly my bicep muscles. The results are pretty amazing, considering I've only been strength training for a few months. Well, the problem is, I don't want to get too bulky. Now I know that females can't get very bulky unless they're on steriods (yes, I'm female by the way)... but my bicep muscles hv increased in size quite significantly since I've started and as much as I love the results, I was told that if I keep increasing the weight, I will gain bulky muscles... Is this true? Will my muscles keep increasing in size as long as I continue to increase the intensity by adding weight? Someone suggested that I should just increase the intensity by increasing reps and not adding weight as this will 'tone' my muscles, instead of adding bulk..

Also, I read that compound setting is for adding mass, is this true? And how many reps should I go for if I don't want to bulk up but want to increase strength and tone? (p.s. I'm only 17, so not sure if I should lift really heavy weights such as 1 RM) Some sites mentioned that 1 - 5 RM is for muscle strength, 8 -12 RM is for mass and 15+ RM is for endurance. So if that is the case, should I go for higher reps and lower resistance then? But I want to add strength as well so I'm confused...
    Last edited by yen; 03-05-2005 at 07:26 AM.