diehard723 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Looking to cut down on fat, but gain muscle

Whats up all,

I started lifting about a month ago again, after taking a break for about 6 months. I am 257 lbs and I am having trouble getting my muscles to show through the layer of fat on top of them. I just started cardio again last week, but I want to know how can I define my muscles and make them show through the small layer of fat on top of them at the same time. I have been lifting (lighter weights, with mor sets and more reps, 4x25 to be exact. But, my buddy told me today that I might need to lift heavier weight to get the muscles to poke through and worry about definition later. I really need advice on this, because I do not know who to listen too!

Willing to hear your ideas

Thanks
    Paul

novice_trainee has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    Depending on how tall you are, you will probably have to lose a considerable amount of fat to get any definition. Focus on building strength and losing fat and the muscle will begin to show. I would also suggest you stop lifitng 4x25; there's almost never a good reason to do that.

My suggestion would be to work on compound lifts, which will stimulate the maximal amount of muscle and give your body a pretty good workout. Check out the Rippetoe sticky at the top of this forum. It's simple and effective.

Half Norse, Half Animal VikingMan's Avatar
    VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000) VikingMan is just really nice. (+1000)
    Originally Posted by novice_trainee View Post
    there's almost never a good reason to do that.
    Except joint health...