SolidForce23 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

The Transition From High School to College Football, And Position Changes

Hi guys-
    My name is Rob, I used to post here a bit but stopped for while, but I'd like to know your thoughts and opinions on something. I'm a sophomore football player who made the varsity team this year, which has been a goal for me over the years. I love the game to the point where just being on a team and playing is enough for me. Because of this, I fear the inability to play college ball. I'm 5'11", 180 right now, and my coach has me at Defensive Tackle. You're probably thinking to yourself "what the hell, this kids tiny.. i wish i was the one blocking him.." and to be honest that's what most people say. However my skills lie in my quickness and speed as opposed to be size and strength. I do well at the position in high school, but once I'm done with my four years here, what do you think will happen? If I were to be an outstanding high school DT in my senior year, do you think I could play college ball and just be switched to a different position.. maybe inside linebacker or even end or something? Or is my football career doomed if I stay at this position? I know I'm only in 10th grade and shouldn't be worrying about stuff like this but it's honestly been bugging me lately... thanks guys.
    Don't flinch; don't fall; hit the line hard.

username3409 has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10) username3409 has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10) username3409 has a little shameless behaviour in the past. (-10)
    im assuming/hoping you're at an athletic 180 pounds (i.e. bf=<14)

in that case, i would play the sophmore year at DT (because as a sophmore, you don't have a whole lot of bargaining power, and you might get lowered to JV), then move to ILB most likely. you should definantly be planning to weigh in over 210 by senior year as well