drjeff has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Thumbs up AZ Doctor Loses 60 POUNDS

Arizona Doctor Loses Sixty Pounds - Discovers Triathlons as the Ultimate Weight Loss Program.

I never intended to get fat! Like many other people, I was a high school and college athlete, and never even thought about being overweight. But somehow, I guess, over the years I just got busy with work and my family and year after year gradually put on a few extra pounds.

Well, those few extra pounds over the years ended up creating a 6’2” thirty-four year old pushing close to 270 pounds. My cholesterol was high, my triclecrides were high, my blood pressure was also high, all this at age thirty-four. I was on a direct course for developing diabetes, increased risk of heart disease, increased risk of cancer, and a ton of other diseases related to obesity.

It gets worse. Did I mention I am a doctor, a sports chiropractor to be exact? I know this stuff; I know the health risks associated with obesity. Everyday I talked with my patients about living a healthy lifestyle, and yet I myself was not managing my own weight and health. Wait, it gets better.

Did I mention that my office is located inside a health club? Day after day, year after year, pound after pound, my bouncing belly walked into the health club and into my office. Unfortunately, like many other doctors out there, I was not practicing what I preaching.

Don’t get me wrong; I was not a complete slacker. I did some a little running, lifted a few weights, I fooled myself in to thinking that counted as exercise. Wearing lose fitting clothes, I walked around the gym like a has-been football player. I’m not fat, I’m big, I told myself.