EKG has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Relatively new at this, in need of help

Hi all, I've been lifting weights for a combined 6 months now (lifted for a while, took a break, started again 3 weeks ago). I've definately gained strength since I've started, and I love doing it... My method is good, slow and sure not jerky etc, I had a trainer help me out a while back. My goals are primarily to lose fat, and gain muscle. Very original I'm sure. I am a vegetarian, and overweight right now at 210 pounds/5'11"-6'. Not a lot of that is muscle. I do my workouts at home, I have an elliptical and some modular free weights.

Here are some of my measly stats at this point:
    2 sets 6 reps 30 pound barbell curl (about a 40-45 pound 1 rep max)
    2-6-30 hammer curl
    2-8-120 bench press
    2-8-100 lat pull down

I don't use weights to work out my lower body and abdominal muscles. I'm no bodybuilder but I thought this would be the best forum to ask around.

I have a bunch of questions...
    Diet: I am on a 1300-1700 calorie diet right now, which consists of 2 takeout meals a day basically, no sodas or candy. Stuff like Panda Express and Togo's. I'm quite certain this is less than optimal for my goals. I'm going to start the timed carb diet thing this week, being a vegetarian I'm wondering if it is even possible for me? What would I eat every day that would be 40% fat and almost no carbs, while still giving me the calories from fat and protein I need to build that muscle?

Supplements: I'm taking Amino Athlete amino acid pills, will this give me the amount of protein I need if I take them before and after workouts? Keep in mind I get maybe 20-30 grams of protein a day on a good day without them, sometimes as low as 10-15. This is the only supplement I am taking.