TheMachineERAU has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Pectoral muscle partial tear...yeah it hurts...

Hi all...

I was wondering if any of you out there have ever experienced a situation siumilar to mine...

I am a college freshman (almost sophomore) and have NOT been lifting for almost a year now. I had been working out for 3 years consecutively during high school and had totally changed my person. My freshman year I was about 5'11" and 130 pounds. A few weeks prior to graduation I was 6'1" and 215 lbs. (no gut, solid mass). This is where it gets scary...

Exactly a week prior to graduation I was doing heavy repetitions of decline bench press. With 315 lbs. on the bar and on my 6th rep I heard a LOUD tearing sound (like tearing a piece of cloth) and my right arm collapsed. Luckily my spotter was right there to catch the weight and rack it. I immediately felt a big burning sensation in my right pec. It smelled up a bunch and basically hurt and burned like a bitch for the next few hours. I couldn't stretch it at all for about 2 weeks. I also couldn't do ANY upper body lift without experiencing painful spasms in my right pec (very sensitive to any force). I couldn't even do one push-up... Of course by now i feel like a total wimp and am beginning to lose my muscular gains I had worked so hard for. The swelling had also gone done and my right pec appeared to be "missing" a chunk of muscle where the pec inserts into the shoulder area. My doctor informed me that this was where the muscle ripped away.

Now its been a year since the injury and I have only recently begun to do push-ups to help stimulate some growth. Soon I will go home for the summer and will be able to visit a sports injury specific doctor who will hopefully be able to reccomend either surgery or rehab.