blackops has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

high reps vs. low reps

ok,

remember that im new to this......

can someone please explain why you do low reps heavy weight for mass gains and high reps lower weight for definition?

ive been doing alot of reading that suggests that you simply need to stimulate the muscle for either or. by lifting the weight, you are stimulating the muscle for growth. why does lifting the weight more times cause more definition and less mass and vice versa?

Gethuge has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Gethuge has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Gethuge has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Gethuge has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Gethuge has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) Gethuge has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Cool

Okay I'm going to delve into this one again and I'm sure that McBain will soon be on my a** about it.

There really isn't any difference as far as muscle stimulation is concerned. Lower reps with higher weights may have the ability to stimulate the Central Nervous System more which causes a more pronounced adaptive response (muscle growth). But the fact is that if a muscle gets bigger it gets stronger and vise versa. If you can keep adding weight to the bar each session then the muscle is growing and you are in a reasonable rep range for you. If this is not the case you need to make some changes (regarding rep ranges or other changes.)

I hope that was clear enough. ( I have a tendancy to be a bit vague, or so I've been told.)
    http://www.angelfire.com/ego/gethuge

"He that teaches us anything which we knew not before is undoubtedly to be reverenced as a master." - Samuel Johnson

blackops has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

this is what i get...

ok,

i do agree that stimulation leads to growth. it also makes sense that growth will lead to definition. everyone responds to the weights different.