mdude85 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

why am I always hungry?

Hi everyone! This is my first post on bodybuilding.com and I hope to get some valuable info from everyone. Here is a little background on me, I don't know how much you need. I am 18 years old, weigh around 140 lbs and I am around 5'6" - 5'7". I started working out (I'm not a bodybuilder, I just want to become a little bigger) in Dec. 2002, worked out pretty heavily (3-4 times a week for about 6-8 months and gained 15 lbs of muscle). Then I stopped working out as much when I got to college (went about once a week and muscle mass decreased a bit). Now I'm in my second semester and I'm trying to build up again by going around 2-3 times per week. But college life is not easy on the body and I don't have time to eat five times a day. Okay, now there's that. Here is my question.

It seems like I am ALWAYS hungry. I wake up hungry and can't go 45 minutes without feeling hunger pains in the morning. I usually eat a decent breakfast (two bowls of cereal and two glasses of juice) and head off to class. After that, I don't get to eat a meal until 1 PM! I try to eat a banana or two between classes (would you suggest something else healthier?). But it seems like I am forever hungry...I eat large meals at the dining hall and in my dorm but end up really hungry two hours later. But it's really hard to just eat whenever I want because I have a limited supply of food in the dorm and in the dining hall. During class, it's hard to concentrate because I'm too hungry.