Kyle K. has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Lower Body Workout??

Hey guys, sorry for the long thread but I need some help!

Alright, I've been working out for around 3 years now. I'm looking for a way to get a good lower body workout without having to do squats. No, I'm not just a lazy bum that doesn't feel like doing them. Actually, in the last game of this past football season I sustained a hairline fracture in the second vertebrae of my neck, and there is also a collection of fluid slightly farther down in my neck. I basically got my neck phucked up bigtime. I couldn't touch weights for nearly 2 months and I'm just getting back into the swing of things lifting wise. Anyway, the doctor has told me NO SQUATS because the weight has to rest around there and the risk of re-injury is just too high.

Anyway, my real quesion is can I build up a really strong lower body on just deadlifts and leg extensions? This is what I've been doing for the past couple weeks and it seems to be doing alright, but I miss squatting... any exercises that are more like squatting that don't put so much pressure on my neck/shoulder area?

Thanks for the help guys! And don't whine about squats... they are the greatest exercise!!

CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250) CyberGod has a spectacular aura about. (+250)
    sorry about your accident, dude. I will not whine anymore while doing squats

Try heavy Leg Press, DumbBells Lunges...and what about front squats???

I'm not sure of Front Squats would be safe...I know I used to tense my neck when i was reaching failure reps...