ClaytonG has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Please clarify post-workout meals!!

hey guys,

ive been lifting for over 3 years now, and I'm still utterly confused about what to have immediately post-workout, and then about an hour after that. could someone please help clarify?? right now, i have a protein/glutamine/creatine shake immediately post-workout, but i know this is not the best thing. i have heard i should be intaking high-gi carbs, but im not sure. please help a brotha out! thanks a ton!

American As Apple Pie theHULK9281's Avatar
    theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500) theHULK9281 is a jewel in the rough. (+500)
    Post-workout shake should consist of a fast absorbing whey protein, and a carbohydrate source (low GI/high GI, your choice). There are other options, but these are the staples. Also, NO fat. Here's what mine looks like:

40g of protein from whey
    50g of carbs from oatmeal (dextrose will suffice also)
    5g creatine

Post-workout meal (about 1 hour later) should be a protein/carb meal. One of my choices:

12 egg whites
    1 cup kidney beans
    Multivitamin

webbum has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)
    Originally posted by theHULK9281
    Post-workout shake should consist of a fast absorbing whey protein, and a carbohydrate source (low GI/high GI, your choice). There are other options, but these are the staples. Also, NO fat. Here's what mine looks like:

40g of protein from whey
    50g of carbs from oatmeal (dextrose will suffice also)
    5g creatine