Count_Zero has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Question Why Eat 6 Meals Per Day?

I'm new to bodybuilding. I've just been reading articles so far (I can't get into the gym at my college untill I get my student ID later this week). In most of the articles I've been reading they tell you that you should eat 5-6 times per day.

Does this work because food is being digested or because the nutrients are being spread out? In other words, do you have to spread out your macronutrients evenly between 5-6 meals per day or can you eat 3 meals that give you most of your nutrients and then eat a small snack like a carrot or a handfull of nuts for the other 3 meals?

To illustrate:

Breakfast:
    3 egg whites
    slice of ham
    hashed browns
    2 slices of toast
    1 glass orange juice
    1 glass milk

Morning Snack
    a carrot

Lunch:
    turkey sub
    tortilla chips
    1 glass juice
    apple

Afternoon Snack:
    half a handfull of peanuts

Dinner:
    salmon steak
    corn
    baked potato
    two slices of bread

Evening Snack:
    one piece of celery

This diet is just for illustration, I haven't actually come up with a diet yet and I doubt that this diet would be good for bodybuilding. I just wrote it to give an example of how food could be spread out during the day with 3 big meals and 3 small snacks.

If I were to eat or drink something with hardly any calories, like unsweetened iced tea, could that count as a meal? (8 oz of unsweetened Iced tea has 1.7 calories and almost negligable nutrients)
    Last edited by Count_Zero; 11-10-2003 at 04:34 AM.
    "I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence, or insanity to anyone, but they've always worked for me."
    ~~Hunter S. Thompson~~