Jonskaroo is on a distinguished road. (+10)

How many rest days...?

Hi Everyone, I'm 61 and started training with free weights about 3.5 months ago. Basically, I do bench press, squats, curls, and military presses, about six sets 8-10 reps to failure. I started training every 3 days, but moved to 4 days because my muscles were still aching slightly after 3. I've put on about 1.5 inches on my arms and 2 inches on my thighs over the three and a half months which seems great if the progress continues.

However, I tried resting for 5 days instead of 4 because my muscles still didn't seem totally recovered after 4 days. When I did this I was stronger and my reps went up. To check, I did my next session just 4 days later, and my reps had gone down, as if I hadn't fully recovered...

Reading all the advice online it seems I should train at least twice a week, but from the experience above it seems I would make more progress training every 5 days?
    As I said, I'm 61 years old - maybe more rest time is needed as you get older? but if I can make more progress training less often that would be great!

Anyone got any thoughts or experience about this please?

Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250) Gandog has a spectacular aura about. (+250)
    Originally Posted by Jonskaroo View Post