whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) whtx has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

How to improve BENCH?

Im a teen, 5'11 and 150 lb. I started lifting this summer and have made improvements on my strength. However, I am currently stuck at bench 135lb. I have to struggle really hard to do a set of 5-6 at 135. I have heard that to improve strength, less is more. One must do at least 3 sets of 8 reps.

Can someone suggest something that I should do? Should I lower the weights and be able to do 8 reps of around 3 sets or should I force myself to do 1.5 sets of 4-6 reps.

Thx

Train smarter not harder amusclehead's Avatar
    amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000) amusclehead is a splendid one to behold. (+10000)

Re: How to improve BENCH?

Originally posted by whtx
    Im a teen, 5'11 and 150 lb. I started lifting this summer and have made improvements on my strength. However, I am currently stuck at bench 135lb. I have to struggle really hard to do a set of 5-6 at 135. I have heard that to improve strength, less is more. One must do at least 3 sets of 8 reps.