Wazzoshi is on a distinguished road. (+10)

Skinny fat - Bulk or cut

Hi,

Sorry if this isn’t the correct section but I’m new to the site and looking for advice. I’m a 26 year old male and up until 2 months ago I’d never really been to the gym, at all. I’ve played football (soccer to you Americans) etc so I’m not unfit but just as I’ve got older I’ve remained skinny and my belly has gradually got bigger.

I’m 5’11 and was 183lbs and about 17.5% body fat. I’m now down to 175lbs (started taking creatine too so imagine without that a tad less) and my body fat has come down too. This is because I’ve been eating about 2000-2100 calories a day and for the first time I’m actually starting to feel a bit better about myself. Even my muscles feel like they have a bit more definition, presumably because I’ve never worked out before. I lift 3/4 times a week and do cardio twice (playing football).

I’m now wondering if I should continue with this cut until I’m quite low fat and then start to bulk, cleanly eating around 3000 calories, or should I just bite the bullet and do it now? I feel really motivated which is great and just in two minds as to whether the cut will plateau and I won’t see as significant fat loss or whether if I bulk just lose motivation because I’ve put weight back on and don’t look too different. I often wonder would I have more energy and be doing bigger lifts in the gym if I ate more. My diet is around 40/40/30 in protein/fats/carbs currently.

Anyone been in my position and if so what would you do?

Thanks all

SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz SuffolkPunch has the mod powerz