For1979 is on a distinguished road. (+10)

41 and new to lifting / bodybuilding

hey guys.

I am 41 years old, 6'4" and 210-215lbs. I am completely new to weight lifting / body building. I spent the last decade drinking and eating my way around the world working out here and then. My weight went up and down over the years from lows of 180lbs to highs of 250lbs - I have always been just in okay shape with the stereotypical mens weight all carried on stomach and love handles. Last year during the zombie apocalypse I stopped drinking for 6 months and did the P90x workout from home - cardio has always been my go to over the years - run run and more run always being what I thought was the answer. Lost some weight. toned up a little, but couldn't sustain it and went back to usual shape after another 6 months.

So in late December I started working with a personal trainer 4 days a week who is a 55 yr old retired ex semi pro bodybuilder - so the guy knows what he is doing..... I assume!!! I am on a nutrition plan now with him - 240g protein / 150g carbs 3 meals a day / 3 shakes a day / creatine and BCAA in the AM and a cheat meal on Saturday evening (eat whatever you want for an hour). we are doing 4 days workout a week for an hour rotating through the body muscle groups, my cardio has been cut down from running daily to 2 brisk walks for 30mins a day. I enjoy the new plan a lot but its a big change from being told for years cardio is a must to get the belly down..... which is never did completely successfully lol