UberMan5000 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) UberMan5000 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0) UberMan5000 has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Unhappy I Want to Gain Weight, But I Have No Equipment, No Money, and No Sweet Clue

Sorry in advance for the wall of text, but I have to get all of this off my wee little chest.

Right, so I'm 5'10" and 130 pounds, and my BMI is 18.7. That pretty much qualifies me as a beanpole. I don't want to be a beanpole. I want to bring myself up to an optimal weight of 150lbs with a BMI of about 21. And rather than do it by getting fat, I'd rather look a good 150lbs.

Unfortunately, I'm a starving student and can't afford too much. I don't think I can afford a gym membership (though I should ask the YMCA about member assistance), a Bowflex, or too many weights, and I also have no flipping idea how to achieve my goal without dropping a mint.

I've asked around dozens of other general-interest internet forums, but somebody pointed me to this one. I figure I should get help from those in the know.

Here's a breakdown of what I have kicking around the house:

*An ergometer (rowing machine)
    *A swiss ball
    *Two 5lbs dumbbells
    *A resistance band
    *A Dance Dance Revolution game, complete with pad
    *Various furniture that I could use for exercises (chairs for dips, a closet for chin-ups, etc)
    *A lot of room to run around in
    *A desire
    *A goal

Most of this stuff is stuff my mother has for her pilates or yoga or whatever nonsense she does. Unfortunately, most of the people that I've talked to told me that none of this will do anything to help build mass. Most of this is just cardio or strength training, and people tell me it's a way-bad idea to do extensive cardio during my big gain. Keep the DDR games to a minimum.