Drashnar has no reputation, good or bad yet. (0)

Exclamation Weird Gym - Need exercise advice

Apologies for the long post, and if this is the wrong spot.

I'm currently a member of a gym that does not have a single, normal, olympic bar (barbell) in the facillity. They have limited dumbells, some machines (including the smith machine), and half the space dedicated to treadmills.

I know, I know, the overall advice I'm going to get is "SWITCH GYMS NOW!!!11!!!"

I know that.

My circumstances though won't let me switch to any other gyms just now, for varying reasons (lack of close options being one of several).

Next, it pains me to admit this, but I'm a bit of a newb. I don't want to consider myself "new" to this, but when my last regular workouts was my time in the Military, and before that time in High School football (done by a very good coach, who now is a College Strength Director and Mens Health Contributor), I haven't done any "serious" working out since 2004 - 2005 timeframe.

So I guess you could sum up by saying I know and remember enough to be dangerous, because I don't want to consider myself a "newb", even though I fit squarely into that bracket.

------------------

A bit of background first:

I'm trying to setup a workout routine that will work with my crazy schedule (working guy in a house of 6), and still get me the progress I'm looking for without completely disrupting the rest of the household.

Right now, I have 2 ultimate goals. 1, make working out a habit, and "the new normal" in my life. 2, be happy with what I see in the mirror.

------------------

On to the question:

So, given my lack of access to a barbell, how would you recommend me moving forward? I know that it severely limits what I can do, but I don't think it will stop me dead in my tracks, at least not yet, given my current (lack of) fitness level.